Bernie Sanders’ Diehard Fans Begin The Five Stages Of Grief

We've tracked Sanders supporters' reactions with the Kübler-Ross model

Jun 08, 2016 at 11:22 AM ET

Bernie Sanders lost big Tuesday night, narrowing his path to possible victory from tiny to virtually nonexistent. His opponent, Hillary Clinton, was named the presumptive nominee by the AP and other major news organizations 24 hours before she carried off wins in the delegate-rich states of California and New Jersey.

Senator Sanders says he’ll soldier on, but he’s also reportedly about to layoff a large portion of his campaign staff, and planning a sit-down with President Obama, who’s likely on the cusp of endorsing Secretary Clinton. As Sanders’ eventual exit looms, his diehard fans—who’ve spent months gathering in online communities to fiercely support their candidate—are beginning to grieve, each in their own way.

In her seminal book on the process of grief, Swiss psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross created the famous five-stage grief model that laid a foundation for how we understand mourning: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Importantly, she notes, all five stages are not experienced in linear order. But, she wrote, there is light at the end of the tunnel. “When you learn your lessons, the pain goes away,” she wrote in 1997.







I do not want to look back, and wonder if I did enough to help the greatest candidate of my life time. from SandersForPresident



No longer feeling the Bern #ImWithHer from hillaryclinton

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required